Nigeria name former U-17 stars in squad to face South Africa

Nigeria’s Victor Osimhen was top scorer at the 2015 Under-17 World Cup in Chile

Teenagers Victor Osimhen and Samuel Chukwueze have been included in the Nigeria squad for November’s crucial 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier in South Africa.

The 19-year-olds helped Nigeria win the a fifth Under-17 World Cup in 2015.

John Mikel Obi, who captained the team at the 2018 World Cup in Russia, has opted out for personal reasons.

Leicester City’s Wilfred Ndidi misses out through suspension after picking up too many yellow cards.

“We give opportunities to our young players like Osimhen and Chukwueze, and also hoping to have our captain Mikel Obi back whenever he is ready to come,” coach Gernot Rohr confirmed.

It is a recall to the senior national team for forward Osimhen, who is on loan at Belgian side Sporting Charleroi from Wolfsburg while it is first call-up for Villarreal’s Chukwueze.

Injury has ruled out experienced Ogenyi Onazi, but locally-based defender Adeleye Aniyikaye is included for the game against Bafana Bafana in Johannesburg on 17 November.

The Super Eagles then play a friendly against Uganda three days later at the Stephen Keshi Stadium in Asaba.

Nigeria top Group E with nine points from four matches, a point ahead of second-placed South Africa.

The three-time African champions will seal qualification to next year’s tournament in Cameroon if they beat South Africa.

Nigeria 23-man squad:

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Elche, Spain); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino, Italy); Adeleye Aniyikaye (FC IfeanyiUbah); Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England); Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia); William Ekong (Udinese, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn, Germany)

Midfielders: Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Mikel Agu (Vitoria Setubal, Portugal)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nasr, Saudi Arabia); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (Levante, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Royal Charleroi SC, Belgium); Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal, England); Samuel Kalu (Bordeaux, France); Isaac Success (Watford, England); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal, Spain)

Standby: Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (Porto, Portugal); Nyima Nwagua (Kano Pillars); Sunday Adetunji (Enyimba); Junior Lokosa (Kano Pillars)


Source link :

Author :

Publish date : 2018-10-30 09:36:26

share on: