South Africa: Athol Trollip Re-Elected As DA Federal Chairperson

The DA has elected Nelson Mandela Bay mayor Athol Trollip as its second in command at its federal congress which took place this weekend in Tshwane.Trollip beat out close competitor Solly Msimanga, while lesser known Annelie Lotriet came in third.

Both Trollip and Msimanga told News24 they were feeling confident ahead of the vote as delegates lined up to cast their ballots at the Tshwane Events Centre voting booths.Party delegates clad in blue did some last- minute campaigning for their candidates while delegates trickled in and out of the voting center between 06:00 and 09:00.

DA leader Mmusi Maimane assumed the role of federal leader for his second term after being elected unopposed.Federal council chairperson James Selfe will also continue in his post unopposed.The other elected leaders are: Thomas Walters as deputy federal council chairperson, Dion George was elected finance chair and the three deputy federal chairpersons were Ivan Meyer, Mike Waters and Refiloe Ntsekhe.

Source: News24


Source link :
Author :
Publish date : 2018-04-08 13:09:16
share on: