Argentina make ten changes ahead of Springbok clash

Argentina have named their team to face the Springboks in Pretoria on Saturday, with only five retained from the 46-13 drubbing inflicted by the same opponent in Salta over the weekend.

South Africa clinched the 2019 Rugby Championship title in fine style as they put the Pumas to the sword in the final round of the competition.

The two sides meet once more in a Rugby World Cup warm-up match at Loftus Versfeld, with two almost different teams set to do battle, following wholesale changes from either side.

Wholesale changes for Loftus clash

Argentina coach Mario Ledesma has retained only captain Pablo Matera, as well as his fellow forwards Javier Ortega Desio and Marcos Kremer, while Jeronimo de la Fuente, and Ramiro Moyano also keep their places among the backs.

Centre Lucas Mensa is set to make his Test debut, and is one of five changes in the backline alongside Joaquin Tuculet, Sebastian Cancelliere, Joaquin Diaz Bonilla and Felipe Ezcurra.  Up front, Mayco Vivas, Julian Montoya, Santiago Medrano, Guido Petti and Tomas Lavanini all come in.

South Africa have also made an overhaul of their own, with the return of Siya Kolisi among the big talking points in the matchday squad.

The flanker returns to the team after missing out on the Rugby Championship, and slots in at openside alongside Rynhardt Elstadt, with Marcell Coetzee starting his first Test as an eighthman.

The side is captained by veteran hooker Schalk Brits, who makes his first start since coming out of retirement in 2018, and forms an all-new front row with Sharks prop Thomas du Toit and Vincent Koch from the Saracens.

South Africa begin their World Cup campaign on 21 September with a clash against defending champions New Zealand, hours after Argentina kick things off against France in Tokyo.

The Boks and the Pumas both crashed out in the semifinals of the global spectacle event last time out, with the men in green and gold prevailing when they met in the third-place play-off.

Kick-off on Saturday is at 17:15.

Argentina team vs South Africa on Saturday, 17 August

Backs: Joaquin Tuculet, Sebastian Cancelliere, Jeronimo de la Fuente, Lucas Mensa, Ramiro Moyano; Joaquin Diaz Bonilla, Felipe Ezcurra.

Forwards: Javier Ortega Desio, Marcos Kremer, Pablo Matera (capt); Tomas Lavanini, Guido Petti; Santiago Medrano, Julian Montoya, Mayco Vivas.

Replacements: Agustin Creevy, Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, Juan Figallo, Matias Alemanno, Tomas Lezana, Gonzalo Bertranou, Benjamin Urdapilleta, Santiago Carreras.

Coach: Mario Ledesma (ARG)


Source link :

Author :

Publish date : 2019-08-15 15:29:05

share on: